Bicycle Brand Contest

Light, sporty and flexible: e-bikes clean up at the Bicycle Brand Contest 2018

The urban mobility of the future runs on two tyres – as highlighted by the winners of the Bicycle Brand Contest 2018. Whether with dynamic e-bikes, practical accessories or ergonomic solutions that take even the smallest detail into account, the German Design Council recognises companies that consistently think ahead in terms of bicycle mobility.

With the Bicycle Brand Contest 2018, the German Design Council honours the bicycle industry's innovative achievements in product and communication design. The advancement of the e-bike’s aesthetics and functionality is especially evident from the winners of this year's award.


Winners showcase the spirit of progress

Biomega, a company that has sought to bring about a paradigm shift in urban mobility since it was founded in 1998, was named "Brand of the Year". The manufacturer substantiated this claim with its Biomega OKO e-bike, which completely captivated the jury. Not only is the model incomparably light and comfortable to ride, but it also appeals to the user with its contemporary design and simple, intuitive navigation.

Other e-bike innovations from renowned brands such as Bafang, M1-Sporttechnik, AVE Bikes and Maserati were honoured with the Winner award.

The Innovation of the Year award was conferred on the ergonomics specialist SQlab, whose new SQlab Grip Series offers custom grips for every rider and every bicycle. The Best of Best award was bestowed on what is currently the world's largest bicycle parking garage: Ector Hoogstad Architects from Rotterdam scored with their iconic building surmounted by an air cushion roof in Utrecht, with space for approximately 13,500 bicycles.

Information on all winners of the Bicycle Brand Contest 2018 can be found here:

The evaluation method

The decisive factor for an award at the Bicycle Brand Contest 2018 was solely the verdict of the independent jury. The jury consists of experts in the various fields of the industry and renowned designers who evaluate the participants on criteria such as the overall concept, product aesthetics, functionality, degree of innovation and durability. The awards ceremony will take place in Paris on 2 October 2018.